September 9, 2013

Good morning, Dear Readers!  

My husband & I were discussing something last night & I thought I’d share it here with you..

Have you ever noticed how many people talk about being completely set free from the effects of being abused?  I find this VERY discouraging even though it supposed to be just the opposite.  For one thing, it makes me feel like something is wrong with me for not being delivered.  (Do I not have enough faith?  What’s wrong with me that God won’t deliver me?)

For another thing, while I know God is certainly well able to make that happen, I don’t believe that is the norm.  There are so many people who have survived abuse, & they need to know that they are not alone.  They also need to be aware of  what can happen as a result of being abused, & what to do to heal their suffering.  They need to know what God can & will do if they entrust Him with their healing.  Especially those who have not accepted Jesus as their Lord & Savior.  Those people in particular need hope, & to understand that God loves them & wants to help them.

I’ve also found people respond to those who are real.  People respond to people who admit to their flaws & problems, rather than acting as if they have no such things.  It’s encouraging- it tells people they aren’t the only one who battles depression or was sexually abused or whatever.  

This is why I try to keep everything authentic with my writing.  I want to encourage & help others, as well as let them know they are not the only ones who have suffered the ways I have.  It isn’t easy being open about such personal things, but it is well worth it whenever someone tells me I have encouraged them or taught them ways to cope.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Abuse and the Healing Journey, Christian Topics and Prayers

Leave a Reply

