October 12, 2013

Good afternoon, Dear Readers!

I know my blog topics jump around from subject to subject sometimes, & I am sorry for that.  I just write things as I feel God places something on my heart.  For a while, I’ve been writing mostly about abuse, but today I want to discuss animals.

Lately I have been reading some very disturbing things regarding our animal companions.  So many people are getting rid of their pets for stupid reasons.  One story I read was of a 22 year old cat, whose owner had her for her entire life, & surrendered her to a shelter because she said she was having “personal problems.”  It breaks my heart so many people act like animals are disposable.  You can’t get rid of a child because of “personal problems”- why is it acceptable to do this with a cat or dog?  I have cared for my pets during terrible times in my life- through sickness, nervous breakdowns, divorce, losing loved ones & more.  Now that I have Complex PTSD, I still take care of them, including my cat with diabetes who requires constant testing, monitoring & insulin shots.  I’m not saying this to brag- only saying it because as a pet parent, we have to take proper care of our furbabies, no matter what!  If for some reason we are unable, then we need to find someone who can help us until we can resume our duties once more.

I also don’t understand why it’s acceptable to put an animal down when they are an inconvenience or sickly.  I never have.   The Bible says “Thou shalt not kill.”  (Exodus 20:13)  It doesn’t say it is acceptable if an animal is sickly or an inconvenience to his owners.   I know people argue for euthanasia & some have even called me inhumane because I am not for it.  However, since an animal cannot verbalize if they wish to die for whatever reason, I don’t think it is right for a human to play God, & decide when & how the animal should die.  I have not once put down any of my pets when they became sick.  Instead, I ask God to take them before they suffer much.  It has worked out well.  Not one of mine has suffered for long after they became sick. 

I read something especially disturbing the other day.. Bestiality is on the rise, & becoming more socially acceptable.  There are even animal brothels in some countries!  Animals are being tortured to death for the sexual gratification of some perverse, sick individuals.  Exodus 22:19 clearly states, “Whosoever lieth with a beast shall surely be put to death.”  This tells me that God has some very serious, definite opinions on such a thing.  

Sadly, I have learned recently too that there are many Christians who believe animals are unworthy of care & love from people.  They believe people are so much better than animals.  Many are also avid hunters.  While I realize the Bible says there is nothing wrong with eating meat (after the great flood- before, people were vegetarians), I don’t understand why so many people don’t care they are taking an animal’s life!   There is so little or even no respect or compassion for the animal who is dying to provide them with food!  I wonder if these people are reading the same Bible I have read..

God loves animals so much!  These things should not be!  Proverbs 12:10 says, “A righteous man hath regard for the life of his beast, but the tender mercies of the wicked are cruel.”  And, Ecclesiastes 3:19 says, “For that which befalleth the sons of men befalleth beasts; even one thing befalleth them: as the one dieth, so dieth the other; yea, they have all one breath; so that a man hath no preeminence above a beast: for all is vanity.” (emphasis added).  

I would like to encourage you today to remember these Scriptures well & to tell others about them.  Please help others to understand how wonderful our animal companions are!  It is our duty as humans.

Leave a comment

Filed under Animals, Christian Topics and Prayers

Leave a Reply

