What Would God Have You Do?- January 7, 2014

I just purchased a book the other day called, “The Post Traumatic Disorder Relationship.”  It explains the disorder, & how the spouse of someone with PTSD can help as well as cope (it isn’t easy living with someone with mental health problems!).  My husband said he would read it, & although I am excited, I am also nervous…

The traumas that caused me to have Complex PTSD also taught me from a very early age to handle all problems on my own, never “burden” anyone by asking for help, & that no one wants to help me anyway.  The thought of having my husband’s help with anything more significant than opening a jar with a tight lid is terrifying to me.  It also makes me feel guilty because I know my husband has plenty of his own things to deal with right now.  I already feel like a burden.  *sigh*

If I had my way, I’d just continue on as I have been, coping & working on getting healthier on my own.  But, I’ve been sensing God wants me to reach out to my husband a bit more lately, which is where the book came into play.  I am less than thrilled with this!  I also know that God has a reason for wanting me to do this.  I am guessing to help me break those old thought patterns I mentioned in the previous paragraph, as well as to teach him to be more compassionate.  Good lessons to learn, yet scary for me, too.  There is a degree of comfort in what is familiar, even when the familiar isn’t healthy.

God is so good though- He will take you out of what is dysfunctional & move you into what is best for you. 

If you too are in a transitioning place, I encourage you to do what I am doing- trust God.  He only has your best interests at heart, & He loves you so very much.  Ask Him to show you what to do in the unfamiliar, to strengthen you & to help you however you need it.  It will be worth it!  I don’t know yet what is going to happen in this situation with me, but I do know beyond a shadow of a doubt that the fear & uncertainty I’m currently feeling will be well worth it as I follow His leading!    

Leave a comment

Filed under Abuse and the Healing Journey, Christian Topics and Prayers, Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Mental Health

Leave a Reply

