Comfort Yourself

Have you ever heard of a comfort box or bag? I only heard of them recently. A comfort box is a decorative box containing items that bring you some comfort. You bring out the comfort box during difficult time, enjoying its contents.

I think this is a wonderful idea, & am in the process of creating my own comfort bag. So far, I am including a soft pretty pink afghan I knitted, a little stuffed blue rabbit I had in my first car, a Bible, & tissues. I’m thinking of also including a lavender scented candle or incense with a lighter, some mints, chocolates or tea bags, some valerian root pills that I take for anxiety, & my tablet computer which contains some of my favorite music, ebooks, movies, family movies & pictures of my family (furry members & humans both). Each item has the ability to give me comfort in some way or makes me smile. I think this will prove very helpful to me during hard times, such as when I’m depressed, anxious or when the C-PTSD is flaring up.

Have you considered creating your own comfort bag?? If not, I encourage you to do so. If you are unsure what to put in it, think of things that exercise your senses in how they bring you comfort. Some examples are:

– Touch: a soft sweater, blanket, afghan or even a pair of socks
– Sight: pictures of those you love, movies you enjoy. – Sound: cd’s or an mp3 player of soft, relaxing music. (I love Native American Indian & some Celtic music as well as nature sounds)
– Scent: a bottle of perfume you like, incense, a scented candle. (Don’t forget a lighter or book of matches if you use incense or scented candles!)
– Taste: tea bags, chocolates, mints, hard candy.
– Scent: a bottle of perfume you like, incense, a scented candle. (Don’t forget a lighter or book of matches if you use incense or scented candles!)

Also, don’t forget a Bible, some tissues, pens, & paper in case you want to write about your feelings.

2 Comments

Filed under Abuse and the Healing Journey, Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Mental Health

2 responses to “Comfort Yourself

  1. youngandtwenty

    That’s such an interesting idea. Thank you for sharing! Maybe that’s something worth trying out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

