You Are Stronger Than You Think!

Have you ever thought about what you have been through in your life?  I mean, really thought about the things that you have made it through?

 

If not, I challenge you today to do this.  I did this recently.  A bad night full of awful nightmares, making me feel the same hurt, anger, anxiety & fear I have felt many times in my life triggered this.  I realized that I have been through some really horrible things & I survived them all remarkably well!

 

I have survived having a narcissistic mother who physically hurt me, who tried to destroy the person I am & make me into whatever she wants me to be, who has betrayed me repeatedly, who used me more times than I can count, still tries to gaslight me to this day, & who hates everything about me.  I also survived an ex husband who was much like my mother in how he treated me, constantly gaslighting me, trying to isolate me from my family & friends & morph me into somene he thought I should be instead of accepting who I was.  I’ve survived a narcissistic mother in-law & two sisters in-law who hate me & have not exactly made a secret out of that.  (Well, with me anyway- they all have put on a good show in front of others, especially my husband.)  They also have done their best to cause problems between us, so it’s amazing we are still married.  All of these awful things are in addition to the more common problems everyone has in life such as losing loved ones, financial problems & such.  When I thought about it, I realized that I am one tough chick!  I also realize that without God, I wouldn’t have survived the things I’ve been through as well as I have.  In fact, to be totally honest about it, I probably would’ve killed myself years ago.  I certainly thought about that enough.  Yes, I have problems such as the C-PTSD, but I’m still alive & doing pretty well under the circumstances.

 

Thinking about all of this has given me a peace & strength I hadn’t felt before.  It showed me how strong I am, with God’s help, & how well I can handle crises.  It feels good!

 

What about you?  What have you experienced in your life that should have destroyed you?  I want to encourage you today to celebrate those victories!  Be proud of the things that you have overcome!  OK, so you aren’t perfect- no one is!  But, you got through & are thriving!  You keep pressing on, & try to be a good person.  That is much more than so many others do.  Many abused people go on to abuse others.  They don’t have the “umph” inside to break the cycle, to face their pain.   But you do & that is something you should be very proud of!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Abuse and the Healing Journey, Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Mental Health

Leave a Reply

