Behold, I Am Doing A New Thing..

Isaiah 43:19 Behold, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs forth; do you not perceive and know it and will you not give heed to it? I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

This Scripture came to mind, in a rather odd way last night…

Almost twenty years ago, my paternal grandmother was dying. She lived much longer than the doctors expected, but knowing her, this wasn’t a surprise. She adored her family, & I imagine her desire to stay with us helped her to live so long after her grim prognosis.

During this time, she had one of my aunts write down some things. Information on when her children were born along with loving words to them, funny stories, & a very touching love letter to my granddad. Grandmom wanted her family to add to this book, yet sadly no one did for many years.

I finally decided this needed to change, & strong armed my relatives into adding some memories to Grandmom’s book. (Well, ok, it wasn’t all that hard to gain their cooperation as they loved her a great deall. 🙂 ). I also scanned some old family pictures & included them in her book. Once all was done, I used my favorite print on demand publisher & created a book that I hope Grandmom would be proud of.

Last month while my father was reacting badly to meds & delirious, I took this book to him in the hopes of grounding him. It seemed to help him some, & he still enjoys the book. I may never get it back! lol

I thought about this last night, & thought what a lovely idea Grandmom had!

Those of us who grew up with narcissistic mothers seldom want to remember our childhood. It was too painful! But, why not try to make sure you don’t forget the good things in your life? God has enabled us to no longer be an extension of our abusive mothers, to have a life of our own…why not record the healing journey so you never forget how far you’ve come? Or, at least record the good things you have enjoyed in your life, so you can pass them along to your children, nieces, nephews or younger cousins?

When I wrote my stories for my Grandmom’s book, it was a pleasure. I remembered good times in my normally dark childhood. I also realized how much healthier i had become- I truly was no longer that wounded, dysfunctional child I once was. You too may enjoy the same pleasure in writing down your family history.

God truly has done a new thing with you. You have broken the cycle of abuse! Why not celebrate it while also creating a special treasure for those you love? Even simply jotting down your stories in a spiral notebook would be wonderful! The good memories shouldn’t be taken for granted- they should be valued as the treasures they are!

5 Comments

Filed under Abuse and the Healing Journey, Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Mental Health, Narcissism

5 responses to “Behold, I Am Doing A New Thing..

  1. Karen

    Girl, you are such an inspiration – all by just being your lil ol self! Gonna keep this idea in the back of my head so when I’m strong enough, I will also put pen to paper and record the good times. Thanks babes, as always. I love you! -k*

    >

    Like

  2. As you probably can guess, my book good times as a child would be empty. Except the times with my wonderful husband and the birth of my children and my time with them. And most of that was a day to day struggle trying to keep a roof over our heads and food. And let’s face it, I’ve talked about that so much they are tired of hearing it. But it’s the only good times I’ve had. It is a great idea for those who have good memories. And maybe one day I will write down my experiences with my children and grandchildren. After all, that is where my good times have been.

    Like

    • I understand… I don’t have good memories of my childhood either except the times with my father’s family. But, why not write down those good times with your kids & grandkids? It’d be something nice for them to treasure.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Yesterday’s Experiences With My Narcissistic Mother | CynthiaBaileyRug

Leave a Reply

