Compassion

Recently something seriously annoyed me.

 

A friend of mine shared that he was sick on facebook.  Rather than being met with compassion, he was told stories.  Stories of how awful the condition he had was, & stories of “I went through that in 2013.  Here’s what happened to me.”  No one asked how he was feeling, what did the doctor say or even said they hoped he would feel better soon.  I was the only one who said these things & that I was praying for him.

 

I’m not saying that to brag.  I’m saying this because it bothers me that there was so little compassion & concern!  This selfishness is so typical, even among non-narcissists.

 

Matthew 24:12 says, “Because of the increase of wickedness, the love of most will grow cold,” (NIV)  We are seeing this in droves today & it’s very sad!

 

There is so much happening in everyone’s life, it can be easy to get caught up in our own life.  It also means sometimes we’re too preoccupied to think before speaking.  Even so, Dear Reader please think of others!  If someone tells you they have a problem, don’t tell them you went through it too, you heard their condition is really painful, or about someone you know who died from it.  Take a second to consider a good response instead.   Some examples are:

 

“I’m sorry to hear that!”

“Are you ok?”

“Is there anything I can do to help?”

“What did the doctor say?”

“Do you want to talk about it?”

“I’m here for you.”

 

People need compassion & understanding, especially these days when there is such a great lack of it.  Why not be one of the few who offers it to those in need?  A little compassion can make a big difference to someone who is suffering.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Christian Topics and Prayers, Narcissism

4 responses to “Compassion

  1. Reblogged this on Espiritu en Fuego/A Fiery Spirit and commented:
    Had a girlfriend like this. She has been downgraded to associate/acquaintance.

    Like

  2. Cindy Patterson

    Yes!! We are to show empathy!!! I’m glad you said this as it bothers me also how even well meaning others do it!!

    Like

    • It just rubs me so wrong! Do they really think such comments are going to help?! Really?! lol I saw it again today with another friend of mine who’s in the hospital. ARGH!!!!! Don’t tell someone in the hospital what a lousy hospital that particular one is or how serious a disease they’re testing him for is. It’s not going to help!

      Like

Leave a Reply

