There Is A Demonic Element To Narcissism

Anyone familiar with someone with Narcissistic Personality Disorder knows there is definitely something wrong with that person.  NPD fits very well, although not perfectly.  The term “disorder” can be rather unsettling.  Disorder implies something is beyond someone’s control, & we all have seen narcissists change from devil incarnate to sweetheart in a flash, when the person they want to impress comes into their presence.  Often, “disorder” doesn’t feel like the right description because of that behavior.  It seems like something else is amiss with that person, but what?

 

I firmly believe there is a demonic element to NPD.  I’m not one to blame Satan & his demons for any little thing bad that happens, but I do believe they are at work on the Earth.  Granted, I haven’t read anywhere to confirm what I believe about narcissists being possessed or influenced by demons, so I can’t offer concrete evidence.  All I can offer is some things that have crossed my mind about this topic.

 

There are evil spirits at work in the world..

 

  • 1 John 4:1 “1 Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.”
  • John 10:10  “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have [it] more abundantly.”
  • Revelation 12:9 “And the great dragon was cast out, that old serpent, called the Devil, and Satan, which deceiveth the whole world: he was cast out into the earth, and his angels were cast out with him.”

 

Evil spirits are here to “steal, kill & destroy” according to what Jesus said in John 10:10.  Isn’t that what narcissists do?  They steal, kill & destroy your mental health, also physical sometimes.  They also deceive (Revelation 12:9) & speak lies (like the false prophets in 1 John 4:1)

 

Narcissists also share many very similar characteristics & means of behavior.  Even narcissists who have never met from different countries, of different races, religious beliefs, cultures, financial statuses, etc. often act very much alike.  How can that be explained other than demons influencing them?

 

And, many victims of angry narcissists have witnessed the identical physical change during a narcissistic rage – the narcissist’s eyes turning jet black.  I don’t mean their pupils dilated so their eyes looked black – I mean literally their eyes changed color from blue, green, hazel or brown to jet black.  Most people’s eyes never change color, no matter their mood, but many narcissist’s eyes will.

 

The behavior of narcissism also goes exactly in the opposite direction of the way God wants us to behave.  That points directly to Satan if you ask me.

 

Not being an expert in the field of demons, I can’t provide expert advice on this aspect of NPD.  However, I do believe it’s good to ask God for wisdom on how to handle the narcissist in your life.  I also think it’s a good idea to ask God to protect you, your family, your property, etc. from the narcissist & any evil spirits.  It also is a good idea to pray for the narcissist, as hard as that may be, so that she may come to know God.

8 Comments

Filed under Christian Topics and Prayers, Narcissism

8 responses to “There Is A Demonic Element To Narcissism

  1. I have experienced what you describe here. It’s a terrifying experience to be in the same room with a person having such a fit of anger with the demonic anger flowing out of the eyes together with obscene and hurting words

    Like

    • Agreed! I wish I’d known God when I was growing up because since I’ve gotten to know Him, demons no longer scare me. But, as a child not knowing God or believing in His existence, & also not knowing demons existed, that rage was absolutely terrifying. Now, it wouldn’t be nearly as scary.

      Liked by 1 person

      • My children witnessed these attacks and they are marked still today. It’s truly scary but you are right with the knowledge of God you can recognize it and by His help also avoid coming into a close relationship with a person with these characteristics

        Like

        • I’m sure they are! I honestly still get the shivers when I remember the rages my mother had. Even now, knowing what it was, it’s still so disturbing when I remember my mother’s eyes turning black or the look of sheer hatred. Things like that make an impression on a child.

          Absolutely! Thank God He can help us so much to avoid these people & survive the ones we have been in contact with. I can’t imagine living in this world, full of narcissists as it is, without God.

          Like

  2. Cindy Patterson

    Thank you Cynthia!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

